Health and Safety

Health Canada operates a hazard communication standard called the Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) in order to protect the health and safety of employees. The WHMIS system groups hazardous materials into classes or categories based on the type of hazard which they represent. These materials are also called controlled products. Each category has its own hazard symbol and it is important that the worker be able to recognize these:

Employee Rights

The Canada Labour Code provides an employee with three basic rights:

1. The Right to Know

You have the right to be informed of known or foreseeable hazards in the work place and to be provided with the information, instruction, training and supervision necessary to protect your health and safety.

2. The Right to Participate

You have the right and the responsibility to participate in identifying and correcting job-related health and safety concerns.

3. The Right to Refuse
You have the right to refuse dangerous work if you have reasonable cause to believe that: a condition exists at work that presents a danger to yourself; the use or operation of a machine or thing presents a danger to yourself or a co-worker; the performance of an activity constitutes a danger to yourself or to another employee.